League of Women Voters of Denver

Nominations for 2024 Annual Meeting Awards

(Please return to Cassie Bishop at cassandrabish@gmail.com by Monday, April 22)

Shirley Weaver Suffragist Award For lifetime achievement Name _Year joined League _____ Specific contributions to League, Office Held or other useful information: **Marty Sloven Mother Lode Award** For outstanding contributions during the last year Specific contributions during the past year and other useful informations: **JEDI Award** For contributions toward Justice, Equity, Diversity and Inclusion Specific contributions during the past year and other useful information: We are also looking for names of any 50-year members to honor at the Annual Meeting. A person may have been a member of another League during the past fifty years to qualify for Honorary Life Member. If you are aware of any 50-year members please list their names here:

Submitted by:

2024 Annual Meeting Awards

All members are encouraged to nominate fellow members for the Shirley Weaver Suffragist, JEDI, and Marty Sloven Mother Lode awards that are given out each year at the Annual Meeting. You may e-mail your nomination with supporting information to the Membership Chair Cassie Bishop at cassandrabish@gmail.com. Nominations will be accepted until April 22.

The **Suffragist Award** recognizes lifetime achievement and is only given to an individual once. It is in recognition of outstanding work and contributions to the Denver League over a lengthy period of time. Previous award winners are:

1988 – Shirley Weaver	2006 - Ruth Stark
1989 – Miriam Grant	2007 – Lorie Young
1990 – May Clark	2008 – Phyllis Zumwinkel
1991 – Genny Weston	2009 - Nancy Ulrich
1992 - Margaret Walther	2010 – Bev Bridges
1993 – Dot Sobol	2011 – Buzzy Hassrick
1994 – Maxine Kurtz	2012 - Marge Fisch
1995 – Helen McIntire and Janet Dworin	2013 – Patty Cordova and Bobbie Heisterkamp
1996 – Jane Wasson	2014 - Catherine Decker
1997 – Mary Hess	2015 – Mary Ann Feldman-Lang
1998 - Marty Sloven	2016 - Mary Werner
1999 - Vivian Dodds	2017 - Sally Augden
2000 – Alice Kelly	2018 - Peg Oldham
2001 - Margaret McNamara	2019 – Gordon Butz
2002 - Clare Freedman and Joan Sussman	2020 - Carla and Frank Bennett
2003 – Thelma Hutt	2021 - Cindy Sestrich and Pearlanne Zelarney
2004 - Mary Jo Spiro and Rose Tanaka	2022 - Carolyn Engelken
2005 – Arlene Hutchinson	

The **JEDI Award** is for members that have strengthened the principles of Justice, Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion (JEDI) in League activities. In League and in our community, we want all voices heard, all individuals counted, and everyone to have a seat at the table. Previous winners include:

2022 - Lilac Connelly and Octavia Davis

2023 - Lisa Haddox and Shirley White

The **Mother Lode Award** is for special effort during the past year. This award can be awarded to the same person more than once. Here is a list of previous awards winners:

1988 – Sue Bollman	2006 - Marty Sloven
1989 – Nora Kimball	2007 - Sandra Shreve
1990 – Jane Wasson	2008 - Bonnie Clarke and Carol Tone
1991 – Alice Kelly	2009 - Katherine Marshall
1992 – Fran Pizer	2010 - Carol Lassen
1993 – Marty Sloven	2011 - Cindy Sestrich
1994 – Jacqui Lansing and Ruth Cambier	2012 - Marci Hladik
1995 – (none)	2013 - Pearlanne Zelarney
1996 – Amy Truby	2014 - Glenda Prosser
1997 – Mary Thompson and Mary Ann Feldman-Lang	2015 - Carol Andersen and Peggy Pitchford
1998 – Josephine Carpenter	2016 – Jan Burns
1999 - Nancy Ulrich	2017 – Sue Stark
2000 - Pat Buchanan	2018 - Andrea Mitchell and Jeanette Scotland
2001 – Lorie Young	2019 - Joan Friend and Marge Fisch
2002 – Bobbie Heisterkamp	2020 - Andrea Mitchell and Anne Duncan
2003 - Bev Bridges and Margaret Velarde	2021 – Steven Coddington and Chris Humphries
2004 - Marion Colliander and Jan Strauss	2022 - Kathy Yates and Elsie Haley
2005 - Nancy Ulrich and Theresa Jones	